Week 1
Monday, January 6 - Lecture: DIY

Wednesday, January 8 - Lecture: Instructions
Workshop 1: performing Fluxus/Obrist
Assignment 1: DO IT (due January 13) -
Each student performs/documents/describes one of the "instruction pieces" from DO IT compendium ---
requires some form of evidence (photo - text - postcard - website - Tweet - Vine - whatever is appropriate to the instruction)

Week 2
Monday January 13 - watch & discuss Assignment 1

Wednesday, January 15 - Lecture: Scores
Assignment 2: Score Film (Due January 22)
Each student will realize "Film for 2 Perfomers" from score handed out in class. The film is exactly 45-seconds long. Videos must be handed in as .mov or .mp4 files using h.264 compression codec. Films will be viewed and discussed on Wednesday, January 22nd.

Week 3
Wednesday, January 22 - watch & discuss Assignment 2
Assignment 3: One Score and Its Realization (collaboration - 2 student Due January 29) Collaborate with one other student in the class. Work together to draft a one-page score and a 1-minute realization of that score. You will hand-in a printed score and a .mov/.mp4 file. You may collaborate on both the score and film, or you can divide your labor between the two. We will look at the 11 films and analyze their scores on Wednesday January 29th.

Week 4
Monday January 27 - Workshop 2: Improvisation story - context (site) and action (story).
Ideation Exercise: 1. context (site) + action _or_ . (Hand in January 29)

Wednesday, January 29 - watch & discuss Assignment 3 .
Hand in script from Ideation Exercise 1

Week 5
Monday, February 3 - Lecture: Scripts
Assignment 4: One Script, Two Films (Due February 24 )

Wednesday, February 5 - Workshop 2: Breakdown sequence discussion
Followup to Workshop 2: Ideation from Brainstorming and Strategic Research

Week 6
Monday, February 10 - - Lecture: Storyboards & pre-production in DIY

Wednesday, February 12 - - Workshop 4: Pitch

Week 7
Wednesday, February 19 - Lecture: Post
Assignment 5: Score/Script for Post

Week 8
Monday, February 24 - Watch & discuss Assignment 4
Wednesday, February 26 - Watch & discuss Assignment 4

Week 9
Monday, March 3 - Workshop 5: serial/chance/data materiality
Wednesday, March 5 - Overview of Circuits as generative/collaborative/instructive

Week 10
Monday, March 10 - - Watch & discuss Assignmenet 5
Wednesday, March 12 - - Watch & discuss Assignmenet 5

 

Back